What Makes You a Better Writer?

I have said from the beginning that sometimes it is incredibly hard to find the time to sit down and craft your words into a story that people want to read. People lead busy lives they are parents, college students, have full time jobs, volunteer for organizations, the list in endless. So my question to you is what makes you a better writer? Do you set deadlines for yourself? Do you have a certain organization to your writer side? How many hours a day/week do you put into your novels?

On a side note, does your family support you when you sit down to write, do they know that it is important to you? Or do they reat is like a joke?

Much Love~

Ash

4 comments

  1. Hey Ash, I don’t really know how much time I spend writing – I’ve never really thought about it! But I know it’s a lot:)

    My family’s never really treated my writing as a joke and it may be because I’ve won awards (this is a real leveller when people ask me why I’m writing!) If you’re worried you’re not being taken seriously, try entering competitions (read about them in ‘Writer Beware’ because they know the good ones and bad ones).

    I’ve actually never thought of writing so people will like it – I just can’t help myself. My answer to your question would be to write for yourself because you love to write and don’t worry about pleasing other people 🙂

  2. Hmmm. I’m not sure what makes me a better writer. I’m still working on it. I do try and sit at my computer at least a couple of hours in the evening to think/ponder/imagine/write. I’m fortunate that my wife is truly wonderful in understanding my need/desire to write. She lets me have as much time as I need. It’s usually my guilt at hiding out in my office that makes me stop long before she would ever say something to me about it. As for the rest of my family, everyone I’ve talked with about my writing has been supportive and encouraging. I think I’m pretty lucky that way.

Comments

